In Memoriam K.

In Memoriam K.
by Ron Padgett

So what will you do tomorrow

Now that he has died today?

Why, you’ll get dressed and

Fix your breakfast as you always do,

Then make some coffee for your wife

And bring it to her bed, where she will say

Thank you—the nicest moment of the day,

For me, anyway. And then the sunlight

On the lawn, song in feathers

High in a tree and hidden,

As if their notes were sung inside my head which is

Come to think of it where

I hear them, as I hear him,

He who made me so much

Who I am and now must be alone

With him now he is gone.

ron_padgett

Leave a Reply

